Who We Are

Western Field Ornithologists is an organization of amateur and professional field ornithologists that promotes the study of birds throughout western North America including Hawaii, the northeastern Pacific Ocean, and Western Mexico. The organization strives to increase knowledge, appreciation, and protection of birds and their habitats through annual meetings, field trips, and publications, primarily Western Birds, a quarterly, peer-reviewed journal that focuses on field-oriented descriptive ornithology.

Officers

President

Kurt M. Leuschner
70065 Sonora Rd #267 
Mountain Center, CA 92561
KLeuschner@collegeofthedesert.edu
2018-2020

Vice President

Jon L. Dunn
24 Idaho St.
Bishop, CA 93514 
cerwa@earthlink.net
2018-2020

Treasurer / Membership Secretary

Suzanne Carota 
3476 Armourdale Avenue 
Long Beach, CA 90808
smcarota@gmail.com
2014-Current

Recording Secretary

Liga Auzins Wurster
12842 Safford East
Garden Grove, CA 92840 
llauzins@yahoo.com
2008-Current

Past President

Thomas A. Blackman
4470 Orchard Ave
San Diego, CA 92107
obeach@cox.net

Board of Directors & Term


Kenneth P. Able

California
kennethpable@gmail.com
2017-2020


Matthew J. Baumann

New Mexico
mbaumann22@gmail.com
2018-2021

Wendy L. Beers

California
docwlb@gmail.com
2017-2020

Kimball L. Garrett

California
kgarrett@nhm.org
2019-2022



Homer M. Hansen

Arizona
youthprog@western
fieldornithologists.org

2015-2021


John H. Harris

California
johnh@mills.edu
2017-2020

Karen A. Havlena

Nevada
jkhavlena@yahoo.com
2016-2022

EDWARD R. Pandolfino

California
erpfromca@aol.com
2019-2022



Bryce W. Robinson

Idaho
bryce@ornithologi.com
2018-2021


diane rose

California
derosester@gmail.com
2019-2022

Steve C. Rottenborn

California
srottenborn@harveyecology.com
2017-2020

Christopher W. Swarth

California
cswarth10@gmail.com
2018-2021



Western Birds Editor


Philip Unitt
San Diego Natural History Museum
P.O. Box 121390
San Diego, CA 92112-1390
birds@sdnhm.org

Assistant Editor


Daniel D. Gibson
P.O. Box 155
Ester, Alaska 99725
avesalaska@gmail.com

 
 



Associate Editors


Kenneth P. Able
California
kennethpable@gmail.com

Kimball L. Garrett
California
kgarrett@nhm.org


Matthew J. Baumann
New Mexico
mbaumann22@gmail.com

Robert E. Gill Jr. 
Alaska
rgill@usgs.gov


Daniel S. Cooper
California
lathrotriccus@gmail.com

Daniel R. Ruthrauff
Alaska
druthrauff@usgs.gov





Douglas W. Faulkner
Colorado
zebrilus@gmail.com

Christopher W. Swarth
California
cswarth10@gmail.com 

Graphics Manager


Virginia P. Johnson
4637 Del Mar Ave.
San Diego, CA 92107
gingerj5@juno.com

Photo Editor


Peter LaTourrette
1019 Loma Prieta Ct.
Los Altos, CA 94024
platourrette@comcast.net

Featured Photo Editor


Ryan Terrill
Moore Lab of Zoology
Occidental College
1600 Campus Road
Los Angeles, CA 90041
ornithoterrill@gmail.com

Book Reviews


Catherine P. Waters
P.O. Box 3505; 25131 Alicia Dr. 
Dana Point, CA 92629
cpannellwaters@gmail.com




Newsletter Editor


Christopher W. Swarth
California
cswarth10@gmail.com 

Special Publications


Bob Gill

3014 Knik Avenue
Anchorage, Alaska 99517
rgill@usgs.gov

Webmaster

& publications designer